>Prayer in action

11 Dec

>This is the true story of a pastor who was too busy for a homeless lady who’d asked him to help her, so he fobbed her off with a promise to pray for her instead.
She wrote this poem and gave it to a local Shelter officer:

I was hungry,
And you formed a humanities group to discuss my hunger.
I was imprisoned,
And you crept off quietly to your chapel and prayed for my release.
I was naked,
And in your mind you debated the morality of my appearance.
I was sick,
And you knelt and thanked God for your health.
I was homeless,
And you preached a sermon on the spiritual shelter of the love of God.
I was lonely,
And you left me alone to pray for me.
You seem so holy, so close to God
But I am still very hungry – and lonely – and cold.

Ouch!
This hurts…
Maybe mostly because I, also, am guilty…
I am oh so very good at promsing to pray for somone – and yet how many times have I forgotten to do even that!
I feel so convicted.

“Faith without actions is dead” (James 2:26)
“Dear children let us not love with words or tongue but with actions and in truth” (1John 3:18)

Leave a Reply

