Why Wait…?

13 Dec

Found this tweet on Twitter a few days ago.
It made me think Very Deep Thoughts.
In fact you could say God REALLY spoke to me through it.
In fact…. I could go so far as to say I had a bit of an earth-shattering revelation from it!!

“Jesus delayed getting to Lazarus, because of something greater he wanted to do… #delays”

Ok.
Let’s look at it.
(John 11:1-7 MSG)

“Now a certain man was sick, Lazarus of Bethany, the town of Mary and her sister Martha. It was that Mary who anointed the Lord with fragrant oil and wiped His feet with her hair, whose brother Lazarus was sick.
Therefore the sisters sent to Him, saying, “Lord, he whom You love is sick.”
When Jesus heard that, He said, “This sickness will not end in death, but is for the glory of God, that the Son of God may be glorified through it.”
Now Jesus loved Martha and her sister and Lazarus.
So, when He heard that he was sick, He stayed two more days in the place where He was. Then after this He said to the disciples, “Let us go to Judea again.”

SO. Why did Jesus not rush to Lazarus the moment Mary and Martha ran to him to beg him to come and heal him…?? Why did he delay?

Now I’m not theologically savvy enough to come up with my own commentary on this.
Not right now I’m not anyway…
Brain is fried these days, you see… Either that, or it’s hibernating.
Never mind.
The point is, I did some research. Cos I’m good like that. And I liked what I found 🙂

“I love how it said that *because* He loved Mary, Martha, and Lazarus, he chose to delay his arrival.
On the surface, most people would look at Jesus’s delay and say, “Oh, He must not have cared about them much or he would have went to him in a hurry!”
But God has infinite knowledge – he knows all things and how the circumstances in our lives have ripple effects beyond just the here and now.
Had Jesus not delayed in order to allow Lazarus to actually die, you, me, and the rest of the world would not be reading about the miracle that Jesus performed in raising him from the dead today.
Allowing Lazarus to die also served as a great foreshadow to the great resurrection that would come later, further emphasizing the importance of Jesus’s power to raise himself (and us) from the dead.
How many more people have believed in Jesus and been saved from eternal judgement after witnessing (or reading about) this amazing miracle? I think the lesson here is that our lives are not really about us – they are about God’s master plan for the universe.
God is so awesome that whether you believe in him or not, your life will still be used by him to accomplish his ultimate work.
Thinking of that, I recall 2 Timothy and Romans 9, both of which speak about vessels of honor and vessels of wrath.
Proverbs 16:4 says “The LORD works out everything for his own ends–even the wicked for a day of disaster.”
God’s timing is the best timing.
It was pure grace that Jesus waited as he did to see Lazarus, just as it is pure grace that God held his wrath from us in our time of wickedness in order to allow us the opportunity to be saved. God is good in a very literal sense!”

The miracle of raising Lazarus from the dead was FAR GREATER than that of simply healing him. It was a lot more radical; it tells me that when God says “WAIT”, there is always a Very Good Reason for it.
This, surely, has to be one of the greatest faith-enhancing things I could have discovered in the last few days…!!
There is one particular miracle I am waiting for right now.
God knows what it is.
I have been so very tempted, especially recently, to give up hope of that miracle ever happening in my life this side of heaven.
BUT NOW I HAVE HOPE.
And I will wait, faithful, obedient, and with my hand in His.

Because “I am confident of this, that He who has begun a good work in me will carry it on to completion until the day of Jesus Christ.” (Phil 1:6)

Leave a Reply

