Micro-Houses and Monkey Bread – or a cuddly, pottering kinda day

25 Feb

Today’s the drizzly, nondescript sort of day, where one feels one has All The Time In The World, and where there is no need to do Anything In Particular.
So the kids are building Lego hotels and playing Monopoly rather amicably.
And me? I lie-in, catch up on StumbleUpon and Pinterest (my new ‘addiction’…), where I find out all sorts of Interesting Facts about Micro-Houses in Japan, and dream of Monkey Bread.
Now, I happened to have some left over bread dough after making homemade pizza for the children last night.
And had heard somewhere on the grapevine about this strange typa cake that combined bread dough with an insane amount of butter, cinnamon and sugar called ‘Monkey Bread’. So I decided to experiment. And BOY was it worth it!! We had it for pudding and all my boys (including the one in his late thirties) were begging me for seconds. And THIRDS.

20120225-123955.jpg
I will make some more and post a full recipe and pictures VERY soon. Because I’ve got to practice y’see…and practice makes perfect doesn’t it?!

Oh and because I’m craving it and salivating at the very thought of it.

*Sooooon*

Anyway, where was I??

I think I went off on a tangent there.
Can’t remember what else I was going to say….

My bad.

Ah well, blame it on the monkey bread!

But whatever you’re up to this dull February week-end, make sure you find some time for pottering & cuddling. It’s good for the soul…

20120225-130330.jpg

4 Responses to “Micro-Houses and Monkey Bread – or a cuddly, pottering kinda day”

  1. Sharon February 25, 2012 at 9:31 pm #

    he he. Try it with cheese and chilli flakes too. We’ve made it twice last summer, and it really doesn’t last long at all – a loaf of each cheese and chilli and cinnamon, sugar and butter. Kids thought it was fun too.

  2. oilofjoyandgarmentsofpraise February 29, 2012 at 9:16 am #

    Mmmmm…..bring on the recipe I say! Looks yummy! Great to chat my friend.
    love you xxx

  3. 90dphillips March 8, 2012 at 9:51 pm #

    I nominated you for the Sunshine Award 🙂

Leave a Reply

